MONTHLY CHAT & RECOMMENDATIONS: JUNE 2017

June was all about the recovery.

I went straight into stage 4 of broken leg grief – ‘depression’. I had to cancel a trip to Krakow, then a short vacation in Spain and finally, a weekend in London. I also had to suspend my internship in the genetics lab. As I wasn’t wearing a plaster cast I was semi-mobile. At first, I was much in pain when walking even a few steps. But the absolute worst part was daily shots of Clexane to avoid pulmonary embolism. So, most of the first week of June I spent in my bed watching Netflix and just accepting my new reality. Then I’ve decided to make the most of this situation.

The doctor said I shouldn’t walk for too long but I could do it. Thus, I quickly started doing exciting things. I went to my friend’s photoshoot, I went swimming a few times, I met with long-unseen friends, I had a few food adventures. I even rode a bike! Around mid-June, I started having rehabilitation to accelerate the healing process. This included electromagnetic field and cryotherapy. Plus, when my foot wouldn’t hurt anymore I started going to the gym.

At the end of the month, I went to my orthopedist who did an X ray to my foot and told me that it heals good and since I don’t experience any pain or discomfort he allowed me to stop wearing my orthosis-like shoe, which I was wearing for an entire month! Now I’m back to being as free as a pony is.


Things that made this month more enjoyable

Try: Pampering yourself

Spa nights rock. But you know what’s even better? When you go to get a manicure and a pedicure. It doesn’t matter if you’re a girl or a boy. Both boys and girls can have beautiful hands and feet! I’ve been going to the same nail salon in Warsaw from the moment when I seriously started taking care of them. When I’m away I don’t get my nails professionally done (and I don’t paint them myself either).

Getting shellac made me grew my nails out for the first time in my life. I used my nails as an accessory, and I’d be constantly asked where I was getting mine done. Today, I’m ready to reveal this secret to the public. My nails are taken care of at La Première. The ladies there are seriously talented and I am never disappointed with how their designs turn out. Not only are they skilful in the nail art department, they also pay attention to provide their clients with sterile equipment and a high level of hospitality. If you are from Warsaw area or are going to visit the city soon give them a call and schedule an appointment. You won’t regret it!

Buy: Something that you wanted for a very long time

If there is a certain thing that you’ve been meaning to get for ages do it! I wanted to get new workout gear probably for at least half a year but there was always something more important. Finally, I have decided that I need a pair of leggings that won’t slide off my butt. The ones I got are from the Nike Pro, but unfortunately, I couldn’t find them online and leave a link for you to check them out. But, you can see them in this post on my Facebook page!

Eat: Prawn Kerala with Kalaunji Naan

As part of my food adventures I wanted to try some authentic Indian food, so I decided to order from Curry Leaves. This restaurant caught my eye way back when I was visiting Hala Koszyki for the first time and I have decided to order something I’ve never had before. Unfortunately, as I was immobile at the time I ordered in and the presentation wasn’t as amazing as in the local. Nevertheless, the taste was beyond amazing! The dish consisted of prawns submerged in the malabar sauce with my personal favourite, coconut, mustard seeds and curry leaves. As a side, I got naan flatbread with black onion seeds. The meal as a whole was very balanced and if you ever find yourself in the unlikely situation of being in Warsaw and wanting delicious Indian food, go for Curry Leaves.

Drink: Cold brew

I grew quite picky when it comes to my coffee. It’s best if it’s a single espresso lungo with caramel notes from my coffee machine at home, a lightly spicy pour-over from a local cafe or a french press of freshly ground light roast coffee beans. The ongoing theme is that I like my coffee black. In the warmer months sometimes I get this need for some cool drink but I’m not a frappuccino girl. Nor I want to drink it iced with milk. If you see me drinking a coffee with milk I’m a) being paranoid that my teeth are getting stained from drinking too much black coffee b) about to CHUG it so the taste is not really a priority (accept my apologies, Mother Coffeebean) or c) trying to make the most of my free drink in Starbucks so I ordered something unusual. So what do I drink in the summer? Well, most of the time I’ll still get a hot coffee, as that decreases body temperature in the long run (physics, eh?). In the last months though, I’ve acquainted cold brew. This monstrosity is created by keeping ground coffee beans in cold water for several hours (usually over 12) and filtering everything afterwards. Cold brew shouldn’t be more than just a little sour and is an ideal solution for summer, as the drink is refreshing and pairs well with high temperatures outside. One thing that I have noticed is that I liked the blend offered in chain coffee shops in Scotland (Starbucks) much more than the ones I have tried in Poland (Starbucks, Green Caffè Nero). On the contrary, the independent alternative hipster cafes have served me the absolute best cold brews ever but I’ll talk more about that in the upcoming post about Warsaw.

SIDENOTE: I don’t know if I was born not suited for the Polish climate or I unlearned over the time, but I can’t stand summer temperatures in Poland! For those of you who are not familiar with the weather in Poland, winters are quite cold, with temperatures near Warsaw area often going to -20℃ (-4℉) while summers can be very hot (I still remember the 37℃ /98.6℉ days two years ago when I was doing an internship in the hospital), humid and full of thunderstorms, which makes the heat even less bearable. Dundonian 0℃ (32℉) to 20℃ (68℉) range makes me VERY happy.

Listen: Cigarettes After Sex by Cigarettes After Sex

I definitely have a thing for this band. My friend said that its name perfectly fits the music they play, as the songs are slow and dreamy. Since discovering their newest album I’ve been listening obsessively, especially during night bike rides, as I love creating the right background with the right music. The song that has really stuck in my head is ‘K.’ and I love its lyrics. If you’re a fan of alternative music with nice bass, you’ll definitely like it.

Watch: Baby Driver

I’m a big ‘life soundtrack’ girl. I like to walk to the rhythm of the song, I’m in a good mood when the music is cheerful and I feel down when I listen to sad songs. As Ansel Elgort who played the title character said ‘the entire movie moves to the sound of his [character’s] soundtrack’. Similarly to the book of this month, Baby Driver is a journey in itself. The first scene is so intense that you immediately forget you’re just a watcher and transfer to the world of the film. Also, while watching the first few minutes of the film I thought ‘Is this going to be like the movie with a taxi driver?’. I don’t like action films too much because I associate them mostly with men fighting each other. Baby Driver is different — here the action part comes in great part from driving scenes (I researched who was so fly to do all these tricks with a car and it turns out that Ansel himself was taught how to do it) and there are many funny moments too. The cast is very impressive and includes stars such as earlier mentioned Ansel Elgort (The Fault in Our Stars, Divergent trilogy), Kevin Spacey (American Beauty, House of Cards), Jamie Foxx (Django Unchained, Annie) and other actors I haven’t seen in movies because of my weird movie taste. Although I loved the movie I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Baby-Deborah relationship. Their frequent kisses felt kinda forced, and Deborah’s character felt flat and simple compared to complex backstories and liaisons of males.

Read: Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

I laughed and cried so hard reading this book. I never laugh or cry over books. A mere chuckle is the most you’ll hear. And I certainly don’t cry while reading. This should be enough of a recommendation for you. The book begins with the protagonist landing in India, where he then lives a life full of adventures. There are plenty of good quotes there and Roberts is a really talented writer. His descriptions are beautiful and the book itself takes you on a journey that once you start you want to keep reading but never want to end.


That’s all for this month. I hope I’ve inspired you to do something from my list!

Leave a Reply

